Lake Superior Zoological Society

EIN 41-0944885

The Lake Superior Zoo is owned by the City of Duluth and operated by the Arrowhead Zoological Society (DBA Lake Superior Zoological Society), a nonprofit 501(c)(3) charitable organization. The society operates the zoo for the benefit of the city according to a city contract as set out in Minnesota Laws 1961, Chapter 91 and Duluth legislative code, Parks and Recreation, Article II. Fairmount Park Zoo, Sec. 35-10. The society receives an annual subsidy for the zoo of about $670,000; $510,000 of which is appropriated to the zoo by the Duluth City Council from tourism taxes.

Board of Directors 2018
Mark Brown, President
Jonathan Ballmer, First Vice-President
Zane Bail, Second Vice-President
Mike Polzin, Secretary
Terra Stenberg, Treasurer
Diana Bouschor Dodge, Immediate Past President
Toni Fladmark-Foster
Jesse Frye
Noah Hobbs
Tracy Larsen
Maya Mattke
Joey Moore
Carole Newkumet
Deb Otto
Patricia Stolee
Sherrie Swanson
Julie Thoreson
Shana Vesel

Emeritus Board Member
Tim Meininger
John Scott
Russ Smith

City of Duluth Parks and Rec Representative

Honorary Members
Stephen Lewis
Mark McShane

We are currently seeking new board members to serve starting in January 2019! As part of the Lake Superior Zoological Society Board of Directors, individuals will help us further our mission of providing close-up animal experiences that inspire connections to wildlife and action towards conservation in our region and around the world. Click here to download the full Board Member job description.

Apply to Become a LSZ Board Member!

Chief Executive Officer
Erik Simonson

Senior Management Team
Lynn Habhegger, Director of Business Operations
Dave Thompson, Director of Animal Management
Sarah Wilcox, Director of Education
Haley Hedstrom, Director of Marketing and Development
Samantha Halligan, Director of Guest Experience

Lake Superior Zoological Society on

Read Our Annual Report
Read our Operating Contract 
Read Our Strategic Plan

Lake Superior Zoological Society
7210 Fremont Street
Duluth, MN 55807
Phone: (218) 730-4500 Email: Board of Directors

Staff Directory

Our Mission: To provide close-up animal experiences which inspire connections to wildlife and action toward conservation in our region and around the world.